?

Log in

Wed, Mar. 25th, 2009, 10:09 pm
damnitnicole: admin-ish post

I changed the community settings to moderated membership a few weeks ago. We were having Russian Spammer issues.
Now, all of a sudden, people are joining again! Like, actual, non-bot humans!

So, the question: are we reviving this community, kiddos? Last post was from 2007, about a diner that, while tasty and wonderful, isn't even in Jersey! We have people commenting stuff about Jack-In-The-Box (which I love to death, but isn't a diner in the least).

If we are, here's some stuff to go from: in the last two years, I've discovered that the claims of people from outside NJ that they have diners are not entirely false!

Michigan has what they call "Coney Islands," which are kind of like a cross between Waffle House and a Diner, but not chains.

Denver, CO, has at least a couple of really awesome, greek-owned places around the city that are open 24/7, serve breakfast all day, and just generally have the right attitude. I don't think you'll ever find a hard roll in Denver, but I'm counting that as an acceptable regional difference. My favorites were Breakfast King and Mac's.

As the last poster stated, Marietta, GA is home to the Marietta Diner. I'll admit to not taking that post seriously in 2007 (yes I am this much of a food snob,) but I've since eaten there a few times, and if Topps in East Newark, NJ still qualifies as a diner, then so is the Marietta Diner.

Finally, this sort of goes with a question I posed a long time ago about Denny's and IHOP and chain places in general, but do we want to count Waffle House in dinerland? I know our membership is mostly from the northeastern USA, so who in here has eaten at one, and can help decide? I'm heading towards a "yes" vote, on the grounds that Waffle House feels more like White Rose and less like Denny's at 3am when I'm drunk.

Comment! Post some stuff about diners! Invite your friends to join!

Sat, Sep. 1st, 2007, 01:13 pm
imatsea: my favorite diner

I any of you Jersey folk ever make it down to the Atlanta, Ga area, Marietta Diner in Marietta, GA is an exquisite diner. I moved from north Jersey in the beginning of July and I think this is my favorite diner of all time. It is owned and run (mostly) by Greek people. They still have a huge American diner menu, but their Greek food is especially awesome. During dinner-time, every table gets bread and butter and each individual gets a piece of really tasty spinach pie. Everything is really fresh. This is the only diner I would ever going to specifically for a salad.

Happy dinering!

Mon, Jul. 9th, 2007, 02:33 pm
togglehead: Suggest a 24 hour for me....

Ok, so i know that any place that does not stay open 24 hours is not a REAL diner by NJ standards...but i figured it had to be said.

We like diners. My friend and i have ANOTHER friend who lives in New Brunswick...and we are from the Wayne area. He doesnt get out of work till 11pm, and we have work in the morning...so we started our "Mid point diner advetures." If you couldnt guess...we locate a different diner that is approx halfway btw us and meet....

trick is...we can never go to the same one. =]

Help us out....anyone have any good suggestions in the the Chatham, Summit, or other surrounding areas? =]

Tue, May. 15th, 2007, 06:04 pm
cinema_babe: A Question about TV and Diners

What are your opinions on the growing trend in renovated diners to include several large flat screen TVs? Do you welcome the opportunity to be able to be able to catch the big game or your favorite TV show while noshing or do you see it as noise encroaching on one of the last bastions of F2F interaction?

Mon, Feb. 26th, 2007, 10:21 pm
richaarde: (no subject)

Might as well cross-post this...

A small part of me dies each time a diner closes. For the Flamingo Dienr in Jersey City, death may be looming.

http://www.nj.com/news/ledger/jersey/index.ssf?/base/news-6/117220891448440.xml&coll=1

Wed, Jan. 17th, 2007, 11:13 pm
cinema_babe: Jersey Diner Favorites

Poll #908905 Jersey Diner Favorites

Favorite Jersey Diner of All Time?

Favorite Jersey Diner These Days?

Favorite "Jersey Diner" Food

What time can you usually be found at a diner?

12:00 mid - 5:59am
4(40.0%)
6:00am - 10:59am
1(10.0%)
11:00am - 2:59pm
0(0.0%)
3:00pm - 7:59pm
1(10.0%)
8:00pm - 11:59pm
4(40.0%)

Wed, Jan. 17th, 2007, 10:53 pm
cinema_babe: Looking for a Recommendation

Lucky me, I have to go to AC for a business conference at the end of this month. As I'm more of a Central Jersey girl, I'm not familiar with the eats south of Ocean County.

Can anyone recommend decent diner eats in or near AC? I'll be at the Borgata.

Sat, Oct. 7th, 2006, 02:14 pm
cinema_babe: I'm a Diner Whore!

I'm a life long Jersey Girl and have eaten at diners in pretty much every county. My favorite for burgers will is the old Parsonage Diner that was in Edison (RIP).

A question for the people who might check in here, what's been your experience with diners and WI-FI access? I know that the Omega on Rt 1 in Ni Brunswick has it but which other ones do. Of those who do, do they allow full access or do they block so called 'adult' content?

Tue, Apr. 25th, 2006, 11:21 am
dharleenk: Diner reviews in New England

Hello everyone-
i love the idea of an LJ community with diner reviews! I live up in MA, so have a bias towards the small new england diners over NJ ones. But we always try to stop in at different diners in NJ when we drive through on road trips. we keep a blog to review some of our diner travels: Dinersaur

10 most recent