?

Log in

Sat, Mar. 4th, 2006, 03:17 pm
richaarde: (no subject)

Yeah, so I finally got to check out the Skylark Diner on Route 1 in Edison NJ. Basically, if you combined a diner with a nightclub, this is what you get. Very stylish, well-prepared food, well-stocked liquor cabinet.

The drink list included, I shit thee not, Johnny Walker Blue Label. That's right, 75-year-old whiskey, at $28 a shot. I wasn't going to splurge that much money on a beverage, so I settled for a nice stout, I forget what brand, but it was not too sweet, with an almost unsweetened chocolate/ nutty taste.

I had the burger which had basil, tomato, and fresh mozzarella, with a side of French onion soup. Both were top notch.

The one thing this place was missing was the homeliness I usually like with a diner. This place seemed kind of sterile and a little "too" perfect. I kind of like a diner that looks more welcoming, not necessarily pretty, but a place where you can get a heaping serving of comfort food. But that's just me.

Oh, and they have security guards. One of them was kind enough to walk me out to my car. (Mind you, I've walked back to my car from hundreds of diners without having encountered any problems). A bit overdone, really.

What can I say, come hungry, come thirsty, check it out.

Fri, Feb. 10th, 2006, 03:32 am
damnitnicole: The Broadway Diner in Bayonne, NJ

The Broadway Diner in Bayonne is funny because there was scrambled porn on the TV for just a minute tonight.

Wed, Aug. 17th, 2005, 10:07 am
dangerprawn: Why, God? Why?

YO! My favorite diner just got taken over. I mean it was bought out by new people and they are totally trying to make it an Italian restaurant. NOT COOL. Not cool. Anyway, the place is the same except for the fact that the walls are painted all like an Italian villa. Imagine that -- a diner with walls painted like an Italian villa. Oh, and now the food sucks. It is all Italian... which I have no problem with... but I don't think that they hired a new cook and he has no idea what he is doing with the new menu. Awful!!! Somebody help me... I need exposure to new diners.

Thu, Jul. 7th, 2005, 11:50 am
njtech: (no subject)

I went to the sandcastle contest in Belmar then headed to AC to help my FIL apply for some city and state aid. Afterwards we went food shopping and we finally left him at 730. We hadn't eaten much since breakfast so we stopped at the Phoenix, a dine ron the bacl Horse Pike iN Asecon, a tad expensive but usually the food is good,the service decent, and it's the only diner anywhere near there, so it's that or fast food.

All went well until the meal was nearly over. Andy had waffles and his elbow slipped onto the plate and covered his arm with syrup. We were nearly finished with our meal but I figured best to clean him up now. We go to the bathroom and wash up and come back and all our food, plates, silverwear is gone. Apparently the busboy thought we were leaving! I've never had this happen before. They were all apologetic and offered to make me another meal, but a) I was 90% done and b) if I was lucky I was going to be home by 11-1130 PM and I had no interest in waiting around for food that I probably wouldn't eat.

still, that was messed up...

Mon, Jun. 6th, 2005, 03:59 pm
larryv: To all those interested

I will be going to the Tick Tock Diner on Rt 3 West tuesday night at around 8:30 to brainstorm on NJDiners.com. If anyone is interested in helping out and giving me some feedback please drop me a reply. I would especially like to hear form anyone with any web design and development experience. If this works out it could become a weekly thing.

Thu, May. 19th, 2005, 12:42 pm
hideousfrost: Long time diner rat; first post...

I've been hitting up diners in Jersey for the past five years now, and I must say that I'm really happy to have found such a great community.

I prefer the old-style chrome diners with their inviting neon lights to the more sanitized concrete buildings. I'm not saying one is better than the other. Sometimes the food isn't so great despite the pretty atmosphere and vice versa.

I just have a soft spot for those.

Anywho, getting to the point.

I want to start touring these gems of the Garden State, and was wondering if anyone would be interested in joining me. I live in Central Jersey [in close range of all the Brunswicks], and have my own transportation. I'm more than willing to drive and can fit 3 or 4 others in my car.

Part of this inspiration came from fond memories of stumbling into diners in the a.m. hours quite drunk and ordering breakfast. It may sound weird, but I've had some of the best times doing this, and figured I put my idea out there in the hopes that there might be other people that share in this joy.

E-mail with interest: infektiouswaste@yahoo.com

[This will most likely wind up x-posted to a number of places.]

Tue, May. 17th, 2005, 10:13 pm
jennie132: philly diners

I have been in this group since it started up and I don't think I have evern written a review...

USA Diner I went here once with some friends and haven't been back since. The food was okay, but the staff was miserable. They weren't very nice and it bothered our waitress if we asked for refills on our coffee. It was recently sold and renamed but I have yet to go again.

Midtown There are several Midtowns I forget what number this one is but it is on 11th I believe, right accross from jefferson hospital. This is the diner I used to frequent during my college years. When I was in school I loved it there...decent food, lovely waitstaff and as much coffee as I wanted. I recently visited it though and it was not as I remembered...Our waitress never brought out gravey for my brother's fries and I have never heard of a cinnamon bun having raisins (I don't like raisins). The other problem was overcrowding but I am pretty sure that that was due to the fact that most of the clubs and bars just let out and the fact that my table was right near the door. Not what I remembered...

The Tiffinay Diner My absolut favorite...the waitresses are fun the food is great...just never go on a sunday after church...the last waitress I had there was ready to sit down and have a conversation with us...she also kept rubbing our backs which was weird but she kept bringing the coffee...YAY!!

Tue, May. 17th, 2005, 01:40 am
elyse: New.

*waves* Hello everyone, my name's Elyse and I'm from Bridgewater, but attending school in Montclair. Diners are a big pastime of mine (ever since I was little, I suppose...my mother always insists on eating at them when we go out :D). In fact, one of the reasons I came to MSU was because there was a diner on campus. (I think it's the only school in the country with one.)

I'm not much of a reviewer, and seeing as how I've been away from my general area for most of the year, I'm just going to give a quick list of my diners (central/north Jersey style):

Red Hawk Diner (Montclair State University campus): Food is so-so, late-nights can be rather slow, but the jukebox is interesting and they cook a mean pork roll with cheese.

Sunset Diner (Rt. 22 East, Greenbrook): Food is awesome. Waitstaff is awesome, especially Rosemary, who is the sweetest most awesome amazing waitress ever. I think awesome is my favorite word right now. I've been going there since I was a wee girl because it's just down the road a piece from my grandmother's house, and I can honestly say that Sunset is my favoritest diner ever.

Six Brothers Diner (Rt. 46 East, Little Falls): Food is pretty good. Better than campus food, just more expensive. I am in love with their matzoh ball soup and the special they have every so often with the stuffed clams. Yum.

Time To Eat Diner (Rt. 202-206 North, Bridgewater, just off the Somerville Circle of death): I actually don't like it much there. Their chicken caesar salad gave me a nasty headache for some reason. They charge you a $3 loitering fee if you don't get anything to eat and most of the waitstaff that I've come into contact with have been fairly mean to me.

Louka's LA Diner (Rt. 202-206 South, Branchburg): If you think the Scotchwood is shiny, you certainly haven't seen Louka's. This thing is SHINY. And expensive, as diners go. Nowhere else have I had to pay $8 for chocolate chip pancakes. The food is okay, but honestly not worth the free matchbook and after-dinner mints.

The Golden Corner (Main Street, Bound Brook): Terrible service. I've been there quite a few times and have been seated, yet never served. I don't think this one's open 24 hours and it's mostly just a hangout for old people, so I wouldn't recommend it. My grandma likes it, if that's any consolation.

Park West Diner (Rt. 46 West, Little Falls (I think?)): Good food. More on the expensive side, though. It's also really shiny. Only been there a few times, so I can't give much of an opinion on it.

I've been to a bunch more, but I either can't remember the names or have only been there once or twice so I can't give an honest opinion on it. I used to eat at the Edison a lot when we used to go to Costco back there (when it used to be called Price Club), but that's been years since I've been there.

Sun, May. 1st, 2005, 10:45 pm
richaarde: (no subject)

(Evidently, I accidentally posted this in my own journal. Let me re-post it here)

Since nobody else mentioned it, I will:

The US1 Diner in Linden is poor. I'll give it credit, it seemed clean, but the service was really poor. The waitress we had was reluctant to bring water without ice, corn muffin that tasted like served barely heated, with cold butter, that kind of stuff. Small wonder there were only one or two other groups there besides us, and it was a pretty big place.

Go to the Lindenhouse on St George's Ave (Rt 27). The food and service there is much better.

Sat, Apr. 30th, 2005, 01:20 pm
_rainysunday: (no subject)

i'm new, i live in wyckoff. my local diner, which i go to almost daily is Hillside Diner in Oakland on 202 south, great coffee and chicken fingers. i hit up 3 diners this week and here are my thoughts:

1) tiffany diner on 17 south: great food, coffee not to great it was too watery.
2) park west diner on 46: the coffee and food was awesome
3) red oak diner in fort lee: coffee blew and the food was decent though.


yeah. hillside is my fave by default since i am there all the time, and i know everyone who works there. who in this community knows Connie, the waitress? she used to work at pompton queen. she knows a lot of people, and a lot of people know her.

skipped back 10